+ Reply to Thread
Discuss Keeps Rebooting at the Bugs and Issues within the HTC Evo 4G Forums, Evo 3D Forums , and Evo View Forums; For no apparent reason, my Evo will decide to reboot, the HTC logo comes on, then after awhile the Sprint ...
    Thanks

Keeps Rebooting

For no apparent reason, my Evo will decide to reboot, the HTC logo comes on, then after awhile the Sprint 4G logo, then it goes to my home screen for a few seconds, then starts all over again. The only way I've stopped it is by taking the battery out for about an hour. Then when I put it back in, it's usually OK. I work this phone hard, as i'm a real estate agent, so it's super irritating when I have to shut down for awhile. Would love some advice.

Thanks
    Cheyenne,
    Howdy and welcome to the forums! I had a similar issue a while back with my evo, but I'm not quite sure that it's the same cause. Are you running a custom ROM? or the factory one? And does the problem happen when you're plugged into the charger?
    If the device stays up and doesn't reboot when it's plugged into the charger, it's probably indicitive of a hardware issue with the battery. Maybe try cleaning the contacts?
    Even if it still happens on the charger, it doesn't necessarily mean that it isn't hardware, but it's a good troubleshooting starting point.

Thanks
    Someone elsewhere suggested that heat may be part of the problem. My phone was highly unreliable in the Southwest last month and while looking for a cause of the rebooting problem, many folks thought it just needed to cool down.

My issues began when I tried to use Navigation, but the phone was almost totally useless in Las Vegas even as a phone which was three days afterward. I had to pull the battery to make it stop rebooting, or put it into Airplane Mode just to use the camera. Back home in Kansas, it's only rebooted once. I'd love to know what the problem is as I really like this phone and surely don't want to have these kinds of reliability problems.